Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Books (382)

Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:54 (A review of Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast)

I enjoyed this version of "Beauty and the Beast". I especially liked the interactions between Beauty and the two "spirits", and how Beauty and the Beast gradually became friends.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Thief of Time review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:47 (A review of Thief of Time)

I enjoyed this book about time, destiny and the Four, or is it Five, Horsemen of the Apocalypse. I especially liked Monk Lu-Tze and his lessons to his apprentice Lobsang Ludd.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Light Between Oceans: A Novel review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:46 (A review of The Light Between Oceans: A Novel)

This is a beautifully poignant book about hope and loss, good and bad decisions, and how people's choices affect people they don't know.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore: A Novel review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:42 (A review of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore: A Novel)

I enjoyed this book of books both new and old. I especially liked how Clay and his friends use their skills and interests to solve problems big and small.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Heart of the Matter: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:38 (A review of The Heart of the Matter: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition))

I enjoyed this book about an assistant police commissioner facing a moral dilemma. I especially liked the interactions between Scobie and Helen and between Scobie and Wilson.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Arctic Chill: A Thriller (Reykjavik Thriller) review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:29 (A review of Arctic Chill: A Thriller (Reykjavik Thriller))

I enjoyed this mystery set in Iceland. The possibilities kept me guessing right until the end. I look forward to reading earlier books in this series.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Geist (Book of the Order) review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:26 (A review of Geist (Book of the Order))

This is a very good urban fantasy, featuring battles between the living and the dead. I enjoyed the characters and their interactions, especially between Sorcha and Merrick. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Spectyr.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Thursday Next: First Among Sequels review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:23 (A review of Thursday Next: First Among Sequels)

I enjoyed this latest installment in the Thursday Next series. I especially liked the interactions between Thursday and her previous incarnations, Thursday5 and Thursday1-4. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, One of Our Thursdays is Missing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Caleb's Crossing: A Novel review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 6 May 2015 05:21 (A review of Caleb's Crossing: A Novel)

This was a fascinating book about the European-Native American encounters in 17th century New England. Brooks does a great job fleshing out the characters and giving a sense of what could have been if Caleb had survived.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Book of Dave review

Posted : 2 years, 3 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:59 (A review of The Book of Dave)

This was a complex and gripping book about family, madness, love and religion, with a new vocabulary to get used to from the beginning. At first, I wasn't sure I liked the book, but the story soon caught my interest and I wanted to learn more about Dave and the future inhabitants of Ham.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 39 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block