Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Books (382)

The Stranger review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:55 (A review of The Stranger)

I liked this book set in 1940s Algeria. Mersault's isolation and indifference to others and his own fate was creepy and thought-provoking.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dog Stars review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:53 (A review of The Dog Stars)

I loved this story about starting again in a new world. There's joy and heartbreak, excitement and serenity. I liked Hig's interactions with Bangley and especially with his dog Jasper.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Nine Tomorrows review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:51 (A review of Nine Tomorrows)

I enjoyed this early collection of Asimov stories. I especially liked the stories about the supercomputer Multivac and the story "The Ugly Little Boy" about a lost boy far from home.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Margarets review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:47 (A review of The Margarets)

I liked this book about identities and working with others to make a difference. While at times the plot was confusing to me, at the end, it all came together nicely. I especially liked the part when the "Margarets" met each other and learned where they each came from.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Late Nights on Air review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:36 (A review of Late Nights on Air)

I enjoyed this book about people at a radio station in the Canadian North. I especially liked the interactions between the characters and the life-changing trip some of them make.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Avoiding Prison and Other Noble Vacation Goals: Adventures in Love and Danger review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:23 (A review of Avoiding Prison and Other Noble Vacation Goals: Adventures in Love and Danger)

An amusing and sometimes poignant book about finding "home" in places near and far. I liked Dale's honesty as she recounted her adventures in the Middle East, the Caribbean and Latin America.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ice-Man review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:17 (A review of Ice-Man)

This is a very intense thriller that kept my interest throughout. As the main character, Holly Alexander, becomes increasingly isolated from friends and family, I wondered how she would survive and overcome her enemy. Cutler doesn't make things easy for Holly and while sometimes I found the obstacles seemingly endless, I now appreciate the problems Holly faced.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Looking Glass Wars review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:14 (A review of The Looking Glass Wars)

This book was a good take on the Alice in Wonderland story. I liked how Alyss and Hatter have to navigate in this world and how they and their friends work together to confront Redd. I look forward to reading the next book, Seeing Redd.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Saint Maybe review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:10 (A review of Saint Maybe)

I enjoyed this book about family relationships, both good and bad. I especially liked the interactions between Caleb and Daphne.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rebecca review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:08 (A review of Rebecca)

This was a gripping book about identity as the nameless new wife tries to make sense of her place at Manderley, believing that she could never replace the memory of Rebecca. I enjoyed reading this book and seeing the 1940 Hitchcock film version starring Laurence Olivier, Joan Fontaine and Judith Anderson.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block