Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Books (382)

The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:07 (A review of The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements)

This is a fascinating book about the elements placed in the context of their discovery and their impact on everything. I liked how Kean groups the elements in various contexts, such as medicine and money.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Game of Spies review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 03:02 (A review of A Game of Spies)

This was a good thriller set during World War II. I liked learning along with the characters whom to trust and whom to definitely avoid.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:55 (A review of Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster)

This is a bittersweet true adventure tale of the 1996 tragedy on Mount Everest that claimed the lives of twelve climbers. Krakauer recounts with brutal honesty what went wrong amidst the heroism of climbers both on his expedition and from others.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Door To Ambermere review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:53 (A review of Door To Ambermere)

I enjoyed this meeting of two worlds fantasy. I especially liked the way Daniel figured out how to navigate in Ambermere and how he met his love, Modesty. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Sorceress of Ambermere.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mount Dragon review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:51 (A review of Mount Dragon)

This is a good thriller with lots of twists. I liked the mix of desert survival challenges with virtual and physical computer hacking.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ghostwalk review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:49 (A review of Ghostwalk)

I enjoyed this mix of history and fiction. I especially liked how Lydia figures out how the past is influencing the present.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Fastnet, Force 10: The Deadliest Storm in the History of Modern Sailing review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:47 (A review of Fastnet, Force 10: The Deadliest Storm in the History of Modern Sailing)

This is an exciting book about storms and the people who battle them. I especially liked learning about the life boats and helicopters and the men who rescued all they could.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Perfect Circle review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:45 (A review of Perfect Circle)

I enjoyed this book about hauntings both seen and unseen. I especially liked the characters' interactions, notably between Will and his daughter Meghan, and between Will and the ghosts he encounters.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Milk Treading review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2015 02:38 (A review of Milk Treading)

I enjoyed this mystery set in a world of cats and dogs. I liked how Julian used his "cat smarts" to solve the mystery and how the characters interacted with each other.I look forward to reading the next book, The Kitty Killer Cult.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 5 August 2014 04:44 (A review of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel)

I loved this book about finding new friends in a new home while learning about their shared history of German occupation during World War II. I especially liked the way it was written through letters.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block