Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Books (382)

The Scarlet Letter review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 03:40 (A review of The Scarlet Letter)

I liked this book about Puritan ethics and hypocrisy. I found the reactions of the townspeople to Hester interesting as time goes by.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 03:31 (A review of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao)

I enjoyed this book about a Dominican-American man trying to find his way in New Jersey and Santo Domingo.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:36 (A review of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks)

I learned much from reading this book, not only about medical history but also about ethics and about a family left in the dark for far too long.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Turn of the Screw (Dover Thrift) review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:29 (A review of The Turn of the Screw (Dover Thrift))

I liked this chilling book about a haunted house and its inhabitants. I especially liked the interactions between the governess and the boy.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

M Is for Magic review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:21 (A review of M Is for Magic)

I liked all the stories. My favorites included Case of Blackbirds, Troll Bridge, Chivalry and Sunbird.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Virtuosity review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:19 (A review of Virtuosity)

I liked this sci-fi thriller about virtual intelligence combined with a physical body. Someday, I'll see the movie this book was based on.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mystery Cats (Signet) review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:15 (A review of Mystery Cats (Signet))

I enjoyed this set of feline mysteries. Favorite stories included "The Lady Wore Black" by Hugh B. Cave and "The Theft of the Mafia Cat" by Edward D. Hoch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Known World review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 5 August 2014 02:13 (A review of The Known World)

This was an interesting book about slavery, race and families in Manchester County, Virginia. I liked the interactions between the characters, including Moses and Caldonia.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Minion: A Vampire Huntress Legend review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 27 January 2014 07:27 (A review of Minion: A Vampire Huntress Legend)

I enjoyed this first book of the Vampire Huntress Legend series. I liked the interactions of the characters, especially Damali and her friends. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Awakening.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jep's Place: Hope, Faith and Other Disasters review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 27 January 2014 07:01 (A review of Jep's Place: Hope, Faith and Other Disasters)

I liked this memoir of growing up on a struggling farm during the Depression. Parzych describes the highs and lows well and I liked learning what happened to him and the family.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block