Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Books (382)

The Snow Child review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 06:12 (A review of The Snow Child)

This was a powerful and moving book about family, appreciation for one another, and making a new life. I liked how Faina brought Jack and Mabel closer together.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Room review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 04:15 (A review of Room)

This was a very powerful and moving book! I liked the characters' interaction, especially between Ma and Jack as first she protects him from Old Nick and then how she prepares him for a much wider world.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Crazy Hot review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 04:14 (A review of Crazy Hot)

I enjoyed this first book in the Steele Street series. The characters were enjoyable to get to know, and the plot moved along well. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Crazy Cool.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Civil War Fantastic (Daw Book Collectors) review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 03:24 (A review of Civil War Fantastic (Daw Book Collectors))

This was a good collection of alternate history stories. My favorites included William Keith's "A Place to Stand" and R. Davis's "Across Hickman's Bridge to Home."


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Secret Supper review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 03:24 (A review of The Secret Supper)

I liked this historical thriller about Da Vinci, The Last Supper, religious and political intrigue in the 15th century. Sometimes there are mysteries and sometimes there are nothing to find, except rumors.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Trouble With Magic (Bewitching Mysteries, No. 1) review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 27 January 2014 03:18 (A review of The Trouble With Magic (Bewitching Mysteries, No. 1))

I enjoyed this first book of the Bewitching Mystery series. I liked how Maggie learned about Felicity and about herself. I look forward to the next book in the series, A Charmed Death.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stone of Farewell (Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, Book 2) review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 2 September 2013 12:43 (A review of Stone of Farewell (Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, Book 2))

I read the previous book, The Dragonbone Chair years ago, so I was glad to read the recap before reading on. There were times when the plot jumped around and I had trouble keeping track, but overall I liked this book and I look forward to reading the final book, To the Green Tower.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Probable Future (Ballantine Reader's Circle) review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 2 September 2013 12:41 (A review of The Probable Future (Ballantine Reader's Circle))

I loved this book about family, history and magic. Each character has a rich story to tell and Hoffman gives them the space to tell it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ghosts of Cape Sabine: The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 2 September 2013 12:40 (A review of Ghosts of Cape Sabine: The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition)

Last year I read North by Roger Hubank, a fictional account of the Greely expedition. Afterwards, I wanted to read an historical account of the Greeley expedition. In this book, I learned more about problems with the first two relief attempts. I liked Guttridge's detailed end notes describing the sources from institutions such as the National Archives and the Library of Congress.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Criminal Elements review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 2 September 2013 12:39 (A review of Criminal Elements)

I like this anthology of mysteries. My favorites include Sue Grafton's "She Didn't Come Home," and Peter Lovesey's "A Man With a Fortune."




0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block